20. Me & You & Everyone We Know

This is a story about people who live their life with love and passion, how people feel love, how people define love, showing how substantial love is. Miranda July acted, wrote and also directed this movie. I first fell in love with the movie when I heard the music, it’s not just a back sound, it completes the movie, its comforting sound can travel me through the movie and trully feel the movie. Later on I found out that the music was produced by Michael Andrews, I guess he put his soul rather than his brain into this piece of art work. It dazzles me, every scenes that Miranda July visualized touched me bad, and the scoring just made it better. Lovely & Delightful.

Me & You & Everyone We Know tells us a story about people. People? To me, there is no lead actor or lead actress in this movie. Because they are all, they got same portion of role. There’s an awkward man named Richard Swersey, he worked at a shoes store, he just separated with his afro-american wife. The characters are ranging in color, age and desires. There’s Christine Jesperson an aspiring contemporary artist who worked as an elder cab driver. There’s Robby & Peter Swersey, Richard’s sons, dealing with transitional phase of their parents’ separation. There’s Sylvie, a kid who loves to collect house ware for her future family, and I found her so fascinating, ultimately her Barbie’s style home. Miranda July really focused on details. Love it!

SUBTLE. There’s my only word for this movie. The story is told gently, the flow seems so natural, we can receive the message easily, there’s no exaggeration about this movie. July’s sensibility of combining honesty and warmth can be felt in every scenes in this movie. I never do the LMAO or ROFLMAO thingy when I watched this movie, I only do the giggle, quite often. July touched me in the heart. When I knew that Me & You & Everyone We Know won Camera D’Or in Cannes Film Festival, I wasn’t shocked at all. This Miranda July’s first featured movie is an outstanding piece of work. Anyway, I recognized one fact about the movie, almost all of actors have such beautiful eyes. Eyes that talk, eyes that send and receive messages. Oh, I love those eyes!

For those who love Michael Gondry, Richard Linklater or Jonathan Dayton perhaps, I think you might like this movie. Independent movie which gives you a visual happiness, natural flow, simple love story and heart-warming back sound. Hmmm, best watched in a sunny day, when you’re feeling fine, this lovely movie will suit you well I think. For those who love to be pleased visually, go grab this movie as soon as possible!

Comments
2 Responses to “20. Me & You & Everyone We Know”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. 10 Film Hollywood Spektakuler 2011…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. 10 Film Hollywood Spektakuler 2011…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…



Leave a Reply

